THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    Re: Weight and Capacity Of Our 416 Rem and 404 Brass
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Weight and Capacity Of Our 416 Rem and 404 Brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted
posted by Alf:
Quote:

This load on the Lothar walther barrel ( incidently it's exactly the same barrel on my rifle, same length) gives a velocity yield of 26.389 feet per second per grain of powder based on Mikes result

I've been reloading for over forty years and the term....."feet per second per grain of powder" has literally no meaning to me. Further to assert that velocity is somehow linear to powder used is a new concept to me. I have a chronograph and have used it in developing loads for many years now and I've never once discovered a linear velocity relationship to the amount of powder I used. Further I've found that each rifle seems to generate it's own unique ballistics bearing only similarities to similar chambered rifles.

What Ray is getting from his .404 is irrelevant to me.....If I can't get it, well.....then I go back to RL15 and continue from there. I won't doubt Ray in the least.....but I'd be insane to try to make my gun duplicate a load when excess pressure signs abound, just because someene else has done it.....

How long does one have to be a reloader to understand that????????

Posts: 28849 | Location: western Nebraska | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of Canuck
posted Hide Post
Quote:

You cannot fit 95 gr of IMR4831 underneath a 400 gr bullet in a 404 Jeffery?