THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    When does a DG rifle become impractical?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

When does a DG rifle become impractical?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
/

one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted Hide Post
I have very little experience with true big bore rifles. I have shot 416's, 458's, and a 500. All 3 produced more recoil than I am capable of controlling for a rapid second shot. It took me a couple seconds to settle back into shooting position at the very best. I have witnessed MANY times where hunters have bought the newest big boy because it is flat shooting (338 Win and 300 Ultra come to mind) and end up seriously wounding the animal and on several occasions losing the animal. I take it very seriously when a hunter cant make a clean kill. I make no intent to compare my elk experience with DG but use it as an example to show that a hunter must be able to manage the recoil. In DG this is not just important but potentialy life threatening. I have no idea where to draw the line but the 375 H&H and 458 Win MAg are what I would consider my personal limit for rapid controlability with the 375 being much easier for me.

Posts: 3155 | Location: Rigby, ID | Registered: 20 March 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Alf: