New
Find
Notify
Tools

Digital camera for hunting
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am looking into buying a new digital camera for my up coming May hunt . I can afford to spend $1000-$1500 for the camera & lens I don't have a clue as to what to look for in a digital camera. Can anybody give me some recommendations as to what to look for. As you can tell I am not a pro but quality pictures are very important to me.

Posts: 599 | Location: Soldotna Alaska | Registered: 05 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Balla Balla
posted Hide Post
Robert

There is a thread some weeks back I think posted by Saeed. They had purchased a Cannon Powershot S1 if my memory serves me correct, it seemed to have the bells and whistles and at a very reasonable price. 10 X optical Zoom as well, you must have good Zoom in Africa as sometimes you cant always get up close to live DG

Peter

Posts: 3331 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of NitroX
posted Hide Post
I bought a Canon EOS 300D digital camera with an extra 75-300 mm ultrasonic image stabilized lens and it performed fantasticaly on my NT hunt this month. 6.3 megapixels photos. Does not shoot video. It is a serious camera and takes magazine quality photos.

I believe it will fit in your budget in the USA.

Posts: 10138 | Location: Wine Country, Barossa Valley, Australia | Registered: 06 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jds
posted Hide Post
I've not yet purchased one but Canon has a digital that will accept all regular 35mm lenses. I think it's the Rebel and runs a little under $1000. You would be able to attach any Canon 35mm lens and still take digital photos. I think it's over 5 megapixel in resolution.

That will be hard to beat!

Good luck!

JDS

Posts: 655 | Location: Burleson, Texas | Registered: 04 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of mbogo375
posted Hide Post
Robert johnson,