New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gratuities following your hunt?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am a relative newbie to the safari world, and really have no clue what is expected for tips to PH's, trackers, skinners, drivers, house staff, etc. I will be staying 14 days with a very deluxe hunting outfit with quality trophies and 1x1 with a PH I really do like. We have never discussed any of these particulars, but I do know that they prefer you to interact personally with all the people you meetand employ. Should I base it on a percentage of the cost of the trip-daily rates-what I can afford? Any help out there as a guideline?

Posts: 1517 | Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho | Registered: 03 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
jack atcheson and sons recoment 100 to 200 per week for everybody but the ph which they recomend 500 if you hunt was a good one. I usually give the lump sum to my ph and tell him to divide it as he sees fit. I know i will see him again and he has to live with the staff after i leave.

Posts: 294 | Location: carmichael,califoenia,usa | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
Picture of T.Carr
posted Hide Post
Blank,

This is a question which often comes up and everyone has their view.

First, talk to your outfitter regarding the tips. They should give you guidelines regarding how much and to whom. Also, depending on the oufitter, the staff tips can be handed out to each individual when you leave; or, you might just pay the total staff tip amount to the PH who will then distribute it.

General guidelines for tip amounts on a plains game safari (and these are just rough guidelines):

1. Staff, budget about $20 to $25 a day total. Sum to be divided among each staff member as directed by the outfitter or PH. [So, on a 14 day safari, about $250 to $350 total staff tip.]

2. PH, about 10% of the total Daily Rate amount. [For example, if the Daily Rate is $350 then, 14 X 350 = 4,900. 10% of 4,900 = $490. So about $500 tip to the PH].