New
Find
Notify
Tools

Day Pack?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
As you guy's have probably figured out I'm totally new to this and will be doing a Plains game hunt next spring so if my questions become to boring just let me know and I'll shut upSmiler. What is the size of the ' Day pack ' I keep hearing about? Don't have an idea of what size it should be. Thanks, smoker1

The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.
--Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 868 | Location: NYS | Registered: 25 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Smoker - I usually take a small size daypack out everyday. Things like meds, sunscreen, cameras, extra clothes (light, jacket, another hat) my own water with rehydration mix in it, and some power bars, small 1st aid kit. Depending on the plan for the day, sometimes I let one of the trackers carry it, if short jaunts are in order I leave it on the hunting car. In Moz it was always in the boat when hunting crocs and hippo.

For plains game I wouldn't worry too much about it as most times you are not too far from the vehicle or camp areas. I carry a knife, small camera, on my web shell belt and that's with me at all times. Hope this helps?

Larry Sellers
SCI Life Member

Posts: 3460 | Location: Jemez Mountains, New Mexico | Registered: 09 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you Larry, appreciate your info. I didn't think I would need the type of pack I used for Bear hunting...too big. Wanted to be perpared. Thanks again, smoker1

The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.
--Thomas Jefferson

One of Us
Picture of Use Enough Gun
posted Hide Post