Notify
Tools

Left or Right Handed.
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Avatar
posted
Hi All
I'm thinking of expanding my hunting experiences by perhaps getting into some bowhunting in the future.

I have little to no experience with bows aside from the high school firbreglass recurve jobs firing cheap cedar shafts of about 30 years ago, so go easy on me ok. Wink

As a left hander, it seems conventional wisdom says to simply get a left handed setup.
I am right eye dominant but have no trouble shooting my rifles left handed (scope or open sights) by closing my right eye, so this is not an issue for me.

Would it be any problem for me to purchase a right handed bow and shoot it left handed (provided of course the grip is a neutral or amidexterous one and will allow it)?
Are there any issue I'm overlooking about shooting a RH bow from a LH position, are there any real world differences between L and R handed setups ?

RH bows and accessories are so much easier to obtain it seems.

Thanks in advance.

Posts: 408 | Location: The Valley, South Australia | Registered: 10 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of lhanson8
posted Hide Post
Actually there are a lot of people who will tell you to shoot right handed because you are right eye dominate.

If you are talking about buying a compound bow, I couldn't imagine anybody shooting a right hand bow left handed. The cables are more than likely be in the way and interfere with a proper grip. The grip it's self is contured to fit the other hand. A quiver of any sort would get in the way and you wouldn't even be able to grip the bow.

Best option is to try shooting right handed, if you don't like it order a left handed bow.

Posts: 82 | Location: Kalispell, MT | Registered: 20 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 724wd
posted Hide Post
yeah, go to a properly equipped archery shop and shoot both right and left.

NRA Life Member