Find
Notify
Tools

need a better broadhead
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of beretta96
posted
Hi guys, My wife and I each took a deer last week, (our first each) and we were using the Steelforce Phatheads in 145grs. Excellent accuracy but no blood trail at all. Mine had 6 droplets until the animal collapsed. My wife had no blood, but hers only went 30 feet because the arrow exited the offside shoulder blade.

I'm not a mechanical fan, but the rage does have my attention.

My other thought was the NAP Razorcaps with different weight ferrules to get the weight up and with 6" of cutting surface, it should be OK.

What do you guys think of these? Do you have any pics of a blood trail from your broadheads?

What bothered me, was it was my first deer, and we needed to comb the bush with flashlights to find the deer because following blood was useless. I really don't want this to happen again.

Thanks,

Posts: 263 | Location: ontario, canada | Registered: 10 January 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Blood trails depend on a lot of things. If the arrow enters at a downward angle and exits low on the body and if there is significant internal bleeding the blood will drip out of the lower wound. If it's a horizontal shot sometimes the blood pools in the body cavity and doesn't leave a trail. Three blade heads leave a better bloodtrail but sometimes at the expense of penetration.

Following bloodtrails is pretty tricky and the more you do it the better you'll get. Congratulations on the deer!

the chef

one of us
posted Hide Post
Did the arrows completely pass through?

I use 125 gr 3 blade Muzzies. Have taken 11 deer with them with the bow set at about 65 pounds.

Only one has not passed all the way through. It was high and hit the spine. Darned near went through it. I have always gotten a very significant blood trail. I can usually see a blood spray on the off side as they do the death lunge away from the point of impact.