New
Find
Notify
Tools

How far with recurve?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been bowhunting for 15 yrs with compounds. Thinking about trying recurves sometime soon. How far would there killing range be and what poundage would you recomend? I hunt deer and elk. And what kind of shafts do I get, could I use carbon.

Posts: 524 | Location: S.E. Oregon | Registered: 27 January 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Forfot to ask what grain of broadhead. Right now I use 100gr.

Posts: 524 | Location: S.E. Oregon | Registered: 27 January 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Nov of 1972 I killed a big ol doe at 60yds with my Herters Sambar and a Bear razorhead. I've only killed a handful of deer with a recurve and all the rest were 15yds or less. They're kinda tuff to shoot between 15 and 30yds, what I call the stringjump zone.

Posts: 3167 | Location: out behind the barn | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Killing range with a recurve is the same as a compound....as far as YOU can shoot accurately on an animal that will stand still till the arrow gets there.

In a practical sense usually half what you can do with a compound. 95% of my kills over the last forty years have been inside 20 yards, on Alabama Whitetails. Western hunters average longer I'm sure.

Poundage? Start with something around 45-55 pounds. Holding a recurve isn't the same as a compound. For elk I use something in the 55-60 pound range.

Carbon is a good choice for shafts, but get some good advise for YOUR set up. Carbons don't spine like wood or aluminum.

I shoot Gold Tip 35/55's, 200gr broadhead, 650 gr total weight out of a 57# longbow.

troy

Birmingham, Al

One of Us
posted Hide Post