Find
Notify
Tools

acceptable results and group size??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
hey guys!
beginner here looking for thoughts and opinions on what an acceptable group size is considered. i shoot 5 shot groups and some are better than others and in some of them, i have 3 shots that are really tight and then have a couple of flyers. should i look at those three or go for the five? also, to what extent should i be looking for in group size seeing as how every gun is different. i shoot a carl gustaf 6.5x55 swedish mauser (date of 1902 on the receiver) with a 22" barrel (original). i am using IMR 4895 and have been working loads with speer's 85 grain varminter and the 140 grain game king. the best i have done is about 5/8" x 3/8" for 3 shots in a group of 5 that shot 1" x 1" with the 85 gr and 1.125 x 3/8" for 3 in a group of 5 that measured 2.5". i realize that with reloading you can fine tune to the Nth degree, but at what point should i say i have a good enough load? thanks in advance.

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
In a hunting rifle if I can get a nice consistant sub MOA from a quick 3 shot group I go with it. Hard to remember needing the 3rd much less 4 & 5.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
quote:
i am using IMR 4895 and have been working loads with speer's 85 grain varminter and the 140 grain game king. the best i have done is about 5/8" x 3/8" for 3 shots in a group of 5 that shot 1" x 1"

If you are doing that with open sights that's just short of wonderful. If you are using a scope you are only just fine. clap

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post