New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: c-clip
 Login/Join

posted
Sevens,

I say your original post and I think your getting a little confused. I am no expert here just going from memory from replies to a similar thread post a few months ago.

The C clips is not plastic, it is a small spring metal clip which looks like a washer with a segment cut out of it. It is used to retain the firing pin spring in place and fits into a shallow grove on the firing pin itself. The purists here noticed that it might be prone to coming out of its grove under recoil. In previous models, the same function was carried out be a small retaining nut and this was thought to be a more reliable solution. From what I understand the parts from the two different methods are not interchangeable and need to be exchanged by CZ.

The plastic part you were warned about was the magazine follower. This is the platform which pushes the bullets up in the magazine and has the large spring underneath it. In earlier models this was either steel or alloy and this was felt to be better than the current plastic one..

Regards,

Pete

Posts: 5684 | Location: North Wales UK | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sevens

If you want to see what a "C" clip looks like, go to your friendly auto parts store and ask to see one.

In the auto mechanic trade they are also known as "Jesus" clips, because when you try to remove one the first thing you say is "Jesus, where did that thing go?". Not to be confused with a "snap ring" (internal or external) which in the trade is known as a M/F ring due the the language it generates during instalation and removial.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Sevens
posted Hide Post
Pete,