New
Find
Notify
Tools

Kurtz Mauser custom build
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Have two Kurz Mauser rifles in 250-3000. I also have another Kurz Mauser action I would like to make a custom sportier with. What is the most powerful cartridge that will "fully function" in that action? 358 win? Will a 257 Roberts fit in that action with factory bottom metal and feed properly???

square shooter

Posts: 2608 | Location: Moore, Oklahoma, USA | Registered: 28 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
lb404-

I am no expert, but I see that no one else has offered any help yet. Probably because we all so envious of your 3 Kurz rifles/actions.

I have seen photos of a custom job on a Kurz action in .308, but I have no idea what may have done to make it work, if anything. So it seems like a .358 is possible...

No idea about the Roberts. I don't have a Kurz to check, dammit!

Posts: 265 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 09 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a couple of Kurz actions, an original in 250 Savage, and an a much modified one currently being worked on in 6.5x47.

The magazine length is limited to 65.65 mm - 2.585" (maybe could be stretched by another 1.5 mm).

The originals were also chambered in 6.5x54 Mauser (which is different to the 6.5x54 MS) and 8x51, which is for all intent and purposes the same as a 308 with a .316 projectile.

So - if you can live with the COL a 358 might be possible.

I would be checking that a dummy cartridge will feed etc before I did anything, if you have to mess with the feeding of something this rare - good luck with being happy with the outcome . . . .

Posts: 605 | Location: Southland, New Zealand | Registered: 11 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ForrestB
posted Hide Post
Personally, I wouldn't try to turn a Kurz action into something it really wasn't meant to be. A suitable round in a suitable action makes for a much more attractive overall package.