New
Find
Notify
Tools

Model 94s
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Did they ever make an accurate pre 64 model 94. I have two and with every single bit of adjustment possible they still shoot way nigh and way to the left. Both of them!!!!!

Posts: 2059 | Location: Mpls., MN | Registered: 28 June 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Michael Robinson
posted Hide Post
I am no expert, but I do have one. It was recently acquired, so I have not yet shot it.

It is 118 years old, and my spare time has been consumed lately in scraping and scratching accumulated carbon off and out of it.

I do note, however, that the sights are adjustable, to some extent.

Perhaps you can drift the rear sight to the right. Is it on the lowest setting? If so, a higher front sight would seem to be in order.

Mike

Wilderness is my cathedral, and hunting is my prayer.

Posts: 13313 | Location: New England | Registered: 06 June 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
I have 6 now and have had at least a dozen more; all either just pre war or up to 1962 vintage.
None are as bad as yours.
Come over and we can shoot some; 30 WCF, 30-30, and 32 special.
I forgot; I have a 44 mag, like 1979 vintage, and had another one years ago.
They do respond well to a peep sight.

Posts: 17035 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a 32 Special and it's very accurate for a 94. I shoot a lot of cast from it too. Another great cast cartridge.

One of Us
Picture of crshelton
posted Hide Post
Years ago, I won a biggest buck hunting contest and the prize was a new 1894 Winchester 30-30.

At the time, I was very happy with my pre 64 M70 Fwt in .308 and did not need another 30 cal rifle, so I traded the 94 for a Ruger 77 .243 for my wife. We still have that .243 and it has been a training rifle for kids, grandkids and a prairie dog/varmint rifle and loaner deer rifle. It still shoots sub moa with 100 grain ammo.