Find
Notify
Tools

Black powder granulation in bpc rifles
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Fellas:
I read many here on AR use 1 1/2 F or 2F black powder in their cartridge rifles. I also read many years ago the larger the case the more corse the black powder should be.

Well, I've been playing with black powder in double rifles for 30 years and I have found 3F gives me the closest to the original velocity. I shoot FFFg from the .450 3 1/4 (4 drams) to the 4-bore at 14 and even 16 drams.

What is your experience?
Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska
www.CalPappas.com
www.CalPappas.blogspot.com
1994 Zimbabwe
1997 Zimbabwe
1998 Zimbabwe
1999 Zimbabwe
1999 Namibia, Botswana, Zambia--vacation
2000 Australia
2002 South Africa
2003 South Africa
2003 Zimbabwe
2005 South Africa
2005 Zimbabwe
2006 Tanzania
2006 Zimbabwe--vacation
2007 Zimbabwe--vacation
2008 Zimbabwe
2012 Australia
2013 South Africa
2013 Zimbabwe
2013 Australia
2016 Zimbabwe
2017 Zimbabwe
2018 South Africa
2018 Zimbabwe--vacation
2019 South Africa
2019 Botswana
2019 Zimbabwe vacation
2021 South Africa
2021 South Africa (2nd hunt a month later)

Posts: 7281 | Location: Willow, Alaska | Registered: 29 June 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
My experience pretty matches yours with 'express' cartridges. I have tried most different brands and grades of current BP and found that Goex 3F gave the highest velocities in rounds like the .500 3", 450 3-1/4", 500/450 No.1 Express 2-3/4" which all use light-for-caliber bullets. Eventually I went to Swiss 1-1/2 Fg duplexed with 5% or so of 4759 or 5744 next to the primer to achieve regulation in the doubles. The 'express' cartridges were generally more accurate for me when used with paper patched bullets and grease cookies, and also required more frequent cleaning than 'standard' types to maintain accuracy.