Find
Notify
Tools

Gunwerks Muzzleloader
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Anyone ever shot one?

Posts: 11902 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 26 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I did'nt know they made them.

Posts: 556 | Location: Michigan, US | Registered: 10 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not familar with gunwerks, ut I a, familar with muzzleloaders that burn smokeless powder.Luke from Arrowhead rifles out of AZ built mine for a fraction of the price gunwerks is advertising. Love mine, killed with it tonight snd last week amd week before
Be glad to answer any questions

Posts: 718 | Location: va | Registered: 30 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of DoubleDon
posted Hide Post
What Brent said.

I've been shooting RemPacs since 2014. Remington 700ML action with Pacnor barrel. Cost about $2,000. 45 caliber 200 gr. SST at 2700 FPS using 60 gr. H4198. 3/8" groups at 100 yards. 3" high at 100 yards; 8 1/2" low at 300 yards. Zero to 250 yards hold dead on deer and squeeze. Mine have been built by Rich DeSimone in NC. Latest build weighs 7# 6oz..

Deo Vindice,

Don

Sons of Confederate Veterans Black Horse Camp #780

Posts: 1695 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 01 February 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
To me the weak points of modern muzzleloaders were the sabot and the firing caps
I have a die that i use to seage my bullets that actually oits grooves in the bullet to match grooves in barrel. Use a spin jag amd the bullet drops into place on the powder load. No stupid piece of plastic that is not very uniform.
Mine uses 209 primers, but the system is far improved on from the factory version. Alot of guys using large magnum primers as well.
This is by far and away from traditional muzzleloading, that is completely different sort of fun

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks gentlemen.

I have a Johnston's Ultimate Muzzleloader. This is the gun the Remington is based upon.