Find
Notify
Tools

H-414 in 30,06
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have never tried this combo before,
But i just dropped 58.5 grains under 20 barnes 150 grain ttsx.
I hope it shoots strait, i am at about .050 off the lands in my custom JC higgins model 50.
This rifle has an MPI stock timney trigger and a Leupold VX3 2.5x8 Can,t think of a better all around set up for the Oregon coast range.
If i can get decent groups i should be set. !
...tj3006

Posts: 605 | Location: OR | Registered: 28 March 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Forgot to mention that 414 is great in my7x57 and .257 roberts..fast and accurate. it is dirty though...tj3006

one of us
posted Hide Post
H-414 is the same powder as WW-760 and is made in the St. Marks, Florida ball powder plant formerly owned by Olin.

It is essentially a double-based ball ("spherical", if you're paying attention to copyrighted names) version of IMR-4350 in its typical burn rate -- although double vs. single-base powders can and do behave a bit differently according to the case size and bore they are used in.

The advantage I've found of H-414/WW-760 over IMR 4350 is that it is denser, so if the load you are attempting to use runs out of powder space with IMR-4350 you can get a couple of more grains of H-414/WW-760 into the case. The .30/06/150 combination might be one of those, depending on the characteristics of your rifle.

There is no way to predict just how this load will perform for you, but it is within reasonable parameters. Monometal bullets can behave somewhat erratically (both in terms of accuracy and terminal performance), so if you have accuracy difficulties I would look first at the bullet and second at the powder.

Posts: 13234 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post