THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BOW HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bowhunting    advantages/disadvantages of crossbow?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

advantages/disadvantages of crossbow?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to the crossbow thing. I would like opinions on the advantages and disadvantages of the crossbow vs. regular bow (compound or recurve). The crossbow is faster but from what ive read doesnt really reach much farther than a regular bow.

One of Us
Picture of cooperjd
posted Hide Post
crossbows are obviously a hot topic in the archery community. below are my opinions, and they are worth exactly what you paid for them Smiler

1. i have no problem with crossbow hunters during archery season, it helps more people get into hunting, and thats what we need.

what i'm afraid of with the newer crossbow hunters that have never bowhunted, is a bit of overconfidence in shooting since its so easy to get proficient with a crossbow, if you have prior rifle shooting experience.

i would list that as a disadvantage. just because you can hit a target at 70 or 80 yards with a crossbow, it might not be such a good idea to fling an arrow (or bolt) at a whitetail at that range. deer (as well as some other critters) are bad at jumping the string, and they can really get out of the way at longer distances.

crossobws:
--easy to get proficient and shoot accurately
--fast and flat shooting
--not a lot of movement in a treestand, so less spooked game
--when using a rest (always, imo) can be very accurate and probably will make better shots on game in a higher % than a vertical bow

but some cons:
--louder than a vertical bow, so can spook game a little easier at the shot
--they are heavy, usually requiring a rest
--depending on the treestand or blind, they can be too bulky to move effectively and you may lose some shooting lanes