New
Find
Notify
Tools

traditional bow hunting??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
anyone out there using a traditional bow for hunting deer? I am getting an itch for this and would like some direction on what to look for...I'll need a full set up for deer hunting next year. I do a lot of "spot and stalk" but also some stand hunting as well-I imagine size is a factor when hunting a ground blind or tree stand...

Thanks!

Dave

one of us
posted Hide Post
Yeah there are a few of us around Dave, I have been shooting trad for pushing 50 years now(I started really young!). I did hunt with a compound for a couple years and then figured out that its the hunter and not the bow, so went back to what I loved and it turns out works best for me.

Posts: 421 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 15 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I shoot semi traditional --recurve and aluminum arrows. I love the feel of a recurve or longbow.
the chef

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have been Hunting with a recurve for a few years and do love it. I have hunted a couple times with a compound, But I do love my revurve. I can not say I am full fleged traditional, I use a heavy carbon arrow. I prefer once pice broad heads. I realy have taken to the snuffer 150 grs by magnus. If you are looking at getting into the sport I would gladly Loan you my senaca recurve for a season and you can see if you like it. Any way just Post back if you want to borrow it. The email I usally use is messed up so you can use this one if your interested KLOPO1@YAHOO.COM. Well good luck and I think you will like the port alot. -Ben thumb

Posts: 412 | Location: Iowa, for now | Registered: 18 July 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've started the transition back. Like calgarychef, I'm sort of semi-traditional with a recurve and aluminum & carbon arrows. I chickened out last year and reverted to the wheel bow for hunting. This year, no luck yet.