THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BOW HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bowhunting    Need help setting up new bow ?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need help setting up new bow ?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I will be recieving a Mathews Switchback XT as an insintave award, soon. I am not a complete newbie to bow hunting but with limited time to bow hunt in the past I never updated my York Bushwacker from its original setup if that will give you some idea of how long I've been "out of it" so to speak!

I've been looking through catalogs and see that things have gotten better, more complicated, and expensive! I could really use some advice on what works well on a hunting bow.

Some particular questions are,
1.Whisker Biscuit vs. drop away. Wich drop away?
2.Sights, lighted or not? Do good sights really start at $100 or can a good set be had cheaper
3.Arrows, how much straightness do I really need?
4.Broadheads, 75 to 100 grains.

The bow will be set at 70# draw weight and be used primarily for whitetail from a tree stand.
Advice and suggestions will be appreciated. Steve

Posts: 231 | Location: West Virginia | Registered: 22 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 323
posted Hide Post
Go with a drop away rest Trophy ridge is good and trophy taker is another good one. Sights I use copper johns dead nuts sight excellent sight and they run around 79 dollars and up depends where youget it at. Arrows I have Gold tip Pro-hunters, XT's, and expeditons they all shoot fine I use the expeditions all the time because the prohunter run around 100 dollars plus and the XT are about 70 and the expeditions are around 56 dollars.

Handmade paracord rifle slings: paracordcraftsbypatricia@gmail.com

Posts: 2501 | Location: Wasilla, Alaska | Registered: 31 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Blacktail53
posted Hide Post