THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BOW HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bowhunting    Mechanical on large animals?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mechanical on large animals?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have never used mechanical before at all.
Past Saturday I used Spitfire on an eland cow. Lung shot, waited 40 minutes, and she was walking / trotting away. Fortunately I could get close enough to put another arrow in.
These flimsy little stars make me nervous.
huh?
Trying to post a picture - here goes.
Lochi.

Hunters pay for conservation. Without funds from hunting the African game cannot survive.
www.affordableafricanhunting.com

Posts: 240 | Location: Johannesburg, South Africa | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Gerhard.Delport
posted Hide Post
Great shot Lochi.

Gerhard

Gerhard
FFF Safaris
Capture Your African Moments
Hunting Outfitter (MP&LP)
Proffesional Hunter (MP&LP)
History guide
Wildlife Photographer
www.fffsafaris.co.za

Posts: 1659 | Location: Dullstroom- Mpumalanga - South Africa | Registered: 14 May 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
There are much better Exp heads than the spitfire. Although, I've seen a pile of Elk successfully taken w/ the spitfires on hunting shows.

I don't like spitfires but, I don't think you can form a valid opinion by using just one. I've seen some of the most popular fixed blade heads fail miserably on smaller game such as whitetails. That certainly doesn't mean they are bad heads.

If you want a really tough exp., you may want to look at the Shockwaves by NAP. Also read the Broadhead tests website.

Good Luck

Reloader

Posts: 4146 | Location: North Louisiana | Registered: 18 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
i use the 4 blade 145 grain danger game head by muzzy.