Find
Notify
Tools

maple-cured ground venison bacon
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
maple-cured ground venison bacon

i tried this a year or so ago, with very fair results. i'm just getting around to posting results now, but late is better than never!

a few notes:

first and foremost, i've never done anything like this before, and this was my first attempt; consequently, it wasn't perfect, although the basic method was quite sound. the recipe, however, needs a little tweaking, so we'll see what lessons we can learn and what we can come up with for a second attempt.

i used 100% ground venison that was 100% fat free, so i decided to employ a binder. you see, since this is a ground-meat bacon and therefore isn't inherently solid, you need ingredients to bind the meat together, or else you will just end up with seasoned burger or sausage. the process of curing itself does this to some extent, but i decided to help it along with two binding agents that i hadn't really tried before. the first was a combination of ground oatmeal and beer (water would work just as well), 1/4 cup of each per pound of meat. this works well for binding sausage and helps to retain moisture, and was great for my pepperoni project:

http://foodsoftheworld.activeb...eroni_topic1612.html

but for thin slicing such as bacon, it is usually advisable to add something to further aid in the binding of the meat itself. after some reading, i decided that unflavoured knox gelatine:

http://knoxgelatine.com/

would be the right thing to use, since gelatin (collagen) is what naturally binds muscle groups and other stuff together in large hunks of meat anyway. in my limited research, the general rule of thumb i came across was two packages of unflavoured gelatin for each 5 pounds of meat.

for a curing agent, i employed morton's tenderquick:

http://www.mortonsalt.com/prod...ing/tenderquick.html