Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to shotshell, need some advice
 Login/Join

posted
I have been loading pistol and rifle for a few years, and just picked up a MEC Sizemaster the other day. In looking at the load data, they are a lot more specific than with centerfire reloading. When it lists a certain primer, do you have to use that primer, or can you substitute any primer for that one? Same thing with wads and hulls. Help!

Posts: 5 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 26 May 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Have fun.

Shotshell reloading is a bit more "art" than "science"

Supposedly you can choose to utilize a "less hot" primer in substitution for a more brissant one, but I would just use what is called for. I don't sweat it with standard trap loads, but for hunting loads or for slug/buckshot, be exact.

You need to use the correct hull (and this is pretty specific, old winchester AA hulls are not the same as what they sell now...) This is very important as the internal case geometry makes a huge difference as to what pressure you will get. Some loads are not that big of a deal, as you can find low end trap loads that all utilize the same powder charges, wad, and shot volume, but will need to have the press reset for proper crimping between hull types.

While there are some wads that are substitutions, they are marked that way. The various claybuster, et al are examples. The wad column is also a big determinant for pressure. You can add or subtract the various felt/fiber spacer wads as you see fit to make the crimp right, but don't substitute the plastic wad or you can have major problems.

Also, do not add buffer without the load recipe calling for it.