New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dumb question fun question...
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
This strikes me as a dumb (Bubba) question, mostly because I have been reloading 30 odd rifle cartridges for 20 years now and I should know the answer.
But I don't. I've never reloaded a shotshell and I have a vague understanding that the powders used are very different. Also with such a big bore, pressure must work differently.

So here is my question; can I take factory loaded slugs, cut the crimp off, pull out the slug, wad and powder, put back half the powder, or a smaller part of the powder then reassemble and shoot?

My goal is simply to get a slug coming out at around 200 - 300 fps. Can I simply reduce the amount of powder until I get just enough speed?

I know well that with rifles you can run into over pressure issues with reduced loads and doing just this would be extremely dangerous.

Why would I want to do this? Well...I slaughter a hog each year and this years' hog is a big old barrow around 800lbs. I usually use a 9mm and it gets the job done. But there is a lot of bruising and the slug often ends up in the neck afterwards.
We use the head for various specialities which is why I don't want the bruising anymore. This animal is also fairly dangerous...so bigger is better.

So a shotgun slug moving just fast enough to penetrate a few inches would be ideal. I think.
This fellah won't hold still for a captive bolt gun, and I don't want to tie him up, rather just put down some feed and let him go happy.

...I feel sorry for people who don't drink.
When they wake up they know that's as good as they're going to feel all day.

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
I can see a number of defects in your plan.

1. The crimps for slugs are different than the crimps for shot but then maybe you don't intend to crimp the slug in place; another bad idea.