The Accurate Reloading Forums
Latter-day SS reloading

This topic can be found at:
https://forums.accuratereloading.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/971103014/m/651105014

23 January 2006, 04:09
Gimpy
Latter-day SS reloading
I've been reloading shotgun ammo since the mid-80's. Back then it was almost LAW that reloading recipies were adhered to without deviation. Since returning to reloading, and snce the advent of the internet, I've noticed there is a freer substitution of components (wads, primers,etc.) than in the past. For instance, Fig 8 wads (among others) for WW-12's in 12 ga. 1/1/8 target loads, etc. Wondered what is the experience of those here.
23 January 2006, 08:28
johnch
Best thing to do is stick to as listed loads .
But several companys produce replacement wads that load the same and look the same , Claybuster and Duster come to mind .

I have been loading for 25+ years , I know what wads and primers NORMALY will produce higher or lower pressures in a given hull .

Powder charges should NEVER exced recomended .

In my trap , skeet , sporting clays and blackbird loads witch are all 2 3/4" 7/8 - 1 1/8 oz and 1150 -1200 fps there is some room to change conponints if you use slower powders .

But if you run faster powders like Clays , Tite Wad , Solo 1000 Red Dot ect pressures can go from safe to whay high by just changing the primer or wad .

With heavyer loads or Nontoxic loads , stick to listed load , EXACTLY !
IMO for most people it is best to stick to listed loads .
If you can't get a componant , call or email the powder company .
They have Tec guys that can help you .

Johnch

NRA life
Delta
Pheasants Forever
DU
Hunt as if your life depended on your results
23 January 2006, 08:34
johnch
Remember , loads posted on the net by the average guy , that says the load is safe in his gun .
Can not be held liable if the load damages or blows up your gun .

I have seen loads posted that were crazy , but guys try them anywhay .