Find
Notify
Tools

12 ga reloading question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of lhanson8
posted
Last year I started shooting in our winter trap league. One of the guys I shoot with started reloading last spring. He is only intrested in Remington STS hulls. For Christmas my parents bought me a case of Winchester AA, which I offered my the hulls to the guy who reloads. He said he would have to adjust his dies to resize the different hulls and was therefore not intrested.

Is this correct? I could see a difference in high brass vs. low brass. What am I missing?

Posts: 82 | Location: Kalispell, MT | Registered: 20 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Remingtons are, in fact, a bit less trouble than AA's - - not just the SST. Any Remington hull (cheapos including sport loads, gun clubs & game loads) use the same data, reload & shoot just as well as STS/Nitro & don't require a press adjustment.
That said, he should have to fool aroound minimally, if at all, with the AA's. Depending on his components, maybe a slight pre-crimp adjustment which is really quick & simple, & if he's concerned about a little swirling or dishing, a small cam adjustment. You ought to suggest that he try a few with the press set up as is & see what kind of results he gets. I can reload both in my single stage MEC without changing anything, & the AA's are satisfactory.

Posts: 171 | Location: East Tennessee | Registered: 13 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
PS - Resizing should be the same - all a resizer does is squeeze the brass back to factory dimensions - - should do it for either hull.

Posts: 171 | Location: East Tennessee | Registered: 13 December 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by eliscomin:

You ought to suggest that he try a few with the press set up as is & see what kind of results he gets. I can reload both in my single stage MEC without changing anything, & the AA's are satisfactory.