THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTSHELL RELOADING FORUM

Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Old international skeet load equivalent?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I remember using Winchester's 12 gauge International skeet load (3 1/2 DE, 1 1/8 oz) to good effect on upland game. Is there an equivalent load commonly listed that will duplicate its ballistics? I'm new to shotshell reloading, and am interested in duplicating this load with a MEC progressive press.

Posts: 453 | Location: Califon, NJ USA | Registered: 18 January 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Try http://www.wwpowder.com/data/shotshell/12gacaseaa.php
they list loads in about any velocity range. I don't recall exactly what the 3-1/2 de loads were supposed to clock but I believe 1250 fps or so?
Try shooting some patterns, you may find the slower loads produce better patterns and are a bit easier on the shoulder.
C.G.B.

one of us
Picture of RandyWakeman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by johnnyreb:
I remember using Winchester's 12 gauge International skeet load (3 1/2 DE, 1 1/8 oz) to good effect on upland game.

I'm confused as to what you mean-- Olympic skeet (Int'l Skeet) loads are 24 grams: less than 7/8 oz.

Posts: 375 | Location: Plainfield, IL | Registered: 11 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Maybe it was an international trap load? I know the box said 3 1/2 DE and 1 1/8 oz of shot. I think it was a very fast load, 1350 FPS or something like that...

Posts: 453 | Location: Califon, NJ USA | Registered: 18 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of RandyWakeman
posted Hide Post
Nope-- International Trap is shot with a 24 gram payloads as well, generally at 1350 fps or so.

Nevertheless, whatever you decide you want is available in all the std. loading manuals, and is easy enough to replicate with a MEC.

If you like some speed with old AA or STS hulls, Green Dot or WSF will get you 1270 - 1340 fps with 1-1/8 oz. using several book loads.