New
Find
Notify
Tools

shotgun load pressures
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm trying to get my head around shotgun load pressures, my ADI & Hodgdon manuals give pressures for various loads with the powder I have typically between 8000-11000 psi. My two shotguns have proof markings which give me lower figures than these AFAIK. My Greener GP is proofed to 3.25 tons per square inch which as I work it out is 7280 psi, my Spanish SxS is proofed to 600Kp/cm2 which I think is about 8534 psi. I suspect I'm not comparing apples with apples somehow, can anyone elaborate on this?
Steve.

Posts: 540 | Location: Nelson, New Zealand | Registered: 07 March 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Let me be frank. I am not an engineer and this is buzzing a bit over my head.

My GUESS is: You mention Greener and Spanish SxS... were these possibly old guns from the black powder days? Black powder loads worked at much lower pressures than modern smokeless loads. The smokeless loads you cite are quite modest and soound like target loads or light field loads. If you examine the pressure data that is in some Hodgdon manuals for black powder guns, this is painfully obvious. Most work well under 10,000 LUP (lead units pressure. CUP copper units pressure measured with a copper pellet crushed are used for higher pressures, over 15K as I understand.)

b). Some guns were overloaded as a pressure test ("3 blue pills") then retested at working pressure and marked "proofed" as O.K. at these "working pressures" or so says the articles in several Gun Digest annuals I have owned.

c). As I recall, the Mauser 98 was "proofed" at around 80,000 CUP while it is expected to work safely and reliably up to 50,000 CUP.. Of course, soldiers are considered expendable and not of great worth...

I share your concern. Is there a date with the Proof marks? If these are old, old guns, they might only be suitable for "black powder pressure" loads. Luck.

One of Us
Picture of 303Guy
posted Hide Post