New
Find
Notify
Tools

most fun automatic under $60K
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I drove stick shift sports cars through high school and college, then Suburbans for 20 years to transport kids and gear. Four years ago I picked up an BMW E39 M5 6 speed which has been a blast. I'm now thinking of trying an automatic transmission. I work in the energy industry, and many folks around here drive upgraded Mustangs, Corvettes, Challengers, etc., but I wonder how those cars hold up and how they drive an an everyday basis. I'm hoping to find a 3-5 year used V-8 powered car that is fun and somewhat "refined". thought and suggestions? thanks

Posts: 228 | Location: San Antonio, TX USA | Registered: 04 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Mercedes C63. For 60 grand you should be able to buy a late model low mileage car. They are incredibly fast, corner like a sports car. A 6.3 liter engine of 450 HP and a 7 speed automatic that can be shifted manually. Wrapped up in a fairly luxurious package.

Dave

Posts: 2086 | Location: Seattle Washington, USA | Registered: 19 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Not surer what you are asking for, but I would assume that a car with a paddle shifter would fit the bill. Of course it would have to do the equivalent of a double declutch on down shifts. Can't remember what they call it!
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10505 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of custombolt
posted Hide Post
Love AMG's. And C63's drop off of sticker price pretty quick making them very tempting. Only downside is ride quality is super stiff.