New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ruger #1 Questions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm interested in buying a Ruger #1 B in 30-06. I am new to number ones so if someone could answer a few questions. Are the older ones better than buying one new in the box? How well will a new one group ? What to look for in buying used?

Thanks

Don't let your fears get in the way of your dreams

Posts: 141 | Location: Oklahoma City | Registered: 20 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The older ones almost always have nicer, figured wood on them and better blueing too. The only benefit to a newer model is that you could go with a stainless model, if you also like a laminated stock to go with it. I have never seen a worn out #1 yet so I doubt that is a concern. I would still check the usual...like what the bore looks like to make sure its not rusted etc., but most of these are "pet rifles" and are well taken care of.

Posts: 4115 | Location: Pa. | Registered: 21 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Everybody ought to own a Ruger No. 1. I have two: an older .375 H&H and a new .416 Rigby. Both are blue/walnut. The older .375 has a beautiful piece of wood. Both rifles shoot well. Mine are both topped with Lepould VX III 1.5-5x20. I've found I need a longer scope tube to get the correct eye relief. Give some consideration to the new 9.3x74. This is a new offering from Ruger.

If you buy an older rifle use the same proceedure you use when considering other used rifle actions.

Buliwyf

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of jimatcat
posted Hide Post