Find
Notify
Tools

Jeep Cherokee purchase
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
G'Day Fella's,

Bit of a Dumb Question but have any of you blokes had any personal experience, with the current model Jeep Cherokee Overland model?
I was thinking of buying a new one, with the 5.7 liter V8 petrol engine but have no experience with these vehicles. I'm looking for a more comfortable ride, as I've been driving Land Cruisers for the past 30 years, and my aching body needs a break from this!
Any advice on comfort, reliability and off road/4WD use, would be very much appreciated!

Regards
Homer

Lick the Lolly Pop of Mediocrity Just Once and You Will Suck For Life!

Posts: 459 | Location: Canberra, Australia | Registered: 21 July 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am on my second GC Overland. Had a 2011 and now a 2014 with the 5.7. Cannot say enough good about it. The biggest asset is the motor and drive train which was mostly designed by Daimler-Benz. On pavement, the GC hauls ass quite well leaving most everything else in your dust. If you like street performance you will not be disappointed.

Off road and in the snow the GC performs exceptionally well assuming you have quality off road tires. With the Overland air suspension, ground clearance is very good for a hybrid street/off road SUV. Also it has very good towing power and capability - better than most everything else in it's class. Certainly beats the pants off the high end SUVs when it comes to towing and off road. Street ride quality is also very comfortable at highway speeds and beyond. Acceleration from 80 to 100+ is amazing.

On the inside, the touch screen controls most everything with a plethora of steering wheel buttons that do everything else. Some of the computer wizardry is gimmicky, but there is some meaningful information at hand.