New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brass dryer
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
I too have switched to the "wet" method of tumbling. It's great - I'm really impressed.

But to dry them I'm not patient enough for the oven or sun treatment so I had my wife watch for a hot air popcorn popper at the Goodwill store. She found one for something like $10 (I think they're only $20 new).

You just shake them a bit in a towel so they're not completely dripping wet then dump a few handfuls down into the popcorn popper (up to 30 or so magnum cases or a whole bunch of smaller cartridges). Shake them around while it's blowing the hot air. You can't leave it on too long because it will get the cases too hot. But run it for a 15 or 20 seconds and then shut it off, shake them around some more, and let them cool a bit. After a few cycles of that they're completely dry in just a couple minutes.

I've been using the same popper for 6 or 8 months and it seems to still be working fine.

Seems like a good way to go to me and it's really quick and cheap.

Posts: 2504 | Location: Central Coast of CA | Registered: 10 January 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ranb40:
I am forbidden to use the oven for gun stuff at home. The little heater uses much less electricity and circulates the air. My brother told me to put the brass in a sack and throw it into the dryer, but I thought the heater was a better idea.

Ranb

Your brother's idea will dent the necks. Yours is better.

Posts: 690 | Location: JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA | Registered: 17 January 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Maybe I am being dense but why wouldn't you want to decap them before cleaning? Yes it is an extra step but you also benefit by cleaning the primer pocket at the same time do you not? Just wondering.

Happiness is a warm gun

Posts: 4106 | Location: USA | Registered: 06 March 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post