Find
Notify
Tools

Musgrave RSA Target Rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of drhall762
posted
Does anyone here have personal experience with this rifle? Accuracy, bullet weights, that kind of thing.

Dave

In 100 years who of us will care?
An armed society is a polite society!
Just because they say you are paranoid doesn't mean they are not out to get you.

Posts: 899 | Location: Ammon, NC | Registered: 31 December 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have no personal experience with the Musgrave rifle, however I knew CP Donnelly quite well. Musgrave was trying to change their barrel making equipment back in the late 1970s to button rifling and was having problems getting the groove and bore to end-up being the size they wanted. CP had been a student of PO Ackley and was very skilled at making barrels that were button rifled. Musgrave hired CP to go to Africa and show them what they were doing wrong and how to do it right. Following CP's instructions Musgrave started making some very accurate barrels. That been nearly forty years ago and there may have been changes to the system or procedures, so I can't speak to recent production; but I can say this: barrels made prior to late 70's would be suspect; barrels made during the 20 years or so 1980 - 2000 would be very accurate; if barrels made in the last fifteen years are made to CP's specs, they could also be counted on to top flight accuracy.

Posts: 1421 | Location: WA St, USA | Registered: 28 August 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Musgrave used to belong to Trevor and Bennie Musgrave and the factory was in Bloemfontein in the Freestate. In November 1985 I bought an RSA Target rifle from them and it was very accurate. It was chambered in 7x57 and had a very slow twist rate at 10".