THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM LONG RANGE SHOOTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Long Range Shooting    Your tips for shooting out to 400-500
Page 1 2 

Moderators: MS Hitman
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Your tips for shooting out to 400-500
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted
Looking for any tips you have on shooting game animals out to 400-500 yards...something I have never done before. I plan on booking an Aoudad hunt in the next year or so and would like to put in for Coues as well. I have a Mule Deer hunt in Far West Texas this year and they are stating sharp angle long range shooting is something on the norm for bagging one.

My local shooting range I am a member of goes out to 300 yards only. Would swapping to a smaller target or a smaller caliber (223?) be better to help with the longer distance? I have a 2 hour drive out to a field I can shoot out to 1k but I don't think I have ever shot at a whitetail or large sized game past 300 yards.

I plan on bringing my Rem 700 7mm STW on the Mule Deer hunt. It has a VX3 6.5-20x50 shooting 160gr Sierra Gamekings. Cut myself short on time to try and bring something else and would rather get in a few practice sessions before then instead of load development for another caliber.

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3315 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would suggest practice is the best approach. If you can consistently range and hit a similar sized target with a suitable projectile in practice, then an animal would be no different.

Practicing with a smaller bullet or target at shorter range would help with reading wind, but you still need to be confident in your hunting setup and yourself before shooting game that far, IMO.