Tools

Dropped rifle - POI change
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Barrett MRAD 308 suppressed
Larue rings
Schmidt & Bender PMII 5x25

I had this rifle sighted in with Federal GMM 175 and the shots all touching at 100

As it was getting close to dark I thought I would test some Lapua ammo for its POI. Same point of impact 6 rounds on top of each other

I'm all happy and as I walk thru the door the sling attachment at the forearm detaches the rifle hits the floor. First on the suppressor and then on its side. I'm running out of light now so I run 4 rounds thru and I'm 2 inches low. On most rifles I'd rezero and be done with it. This setup is military grade and I wouldn't think this should have happened. It's dark now and I can't mess with it so now it's bugging me.

Any ideas?

Thanks
RC

RC

Repeal the Hughes Amendment.

Posts: 1147 | Location: Ohio USA | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I carry Army long guns for a living and being military grade doesn't make them bombproof. Rezero your gun and check your optic for function. I broke the shit out of a Schmidt during a down select recently (as in whole ocular housing broke off).

Posts: 518 | Registered: 28 November 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks. I figured as much but not being able to check until tomorrow was bugging me.

RC

Posts: 1147 | Location: Ohio USA | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've had good luck checking zeros in the dark with a orange stick-on dot and a flashlight right beside it. The target is as plain as day, and the bullets don't care if its dark out.

Posts: 1928 | Location: Saskatchewan, Canada | Registered: 30 November 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post