Notify
Tools

Best choice?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Steve Ahrenberg
posted
Gents,

I've joined a private range that offers long range steel. I have a couple rifles that would both probably be suitable to build up as long range shooters.

Ruger 77 Mark II .300 Win mag. Bill Wiseman custom.

Weatherby Mark V SS fluted barrel 7mm Weatherby Mag.

Both have Swarovski 4 x 12's and both have good, crisp Timney triggers. I am not sure if I need an adjustable turret scope dealio of not?

I'm new to LRS and will accept any and all advise.

I also have a Ferret .50BMG with a big Nightforce, 5x25 x 56.

The only place I can shoot it is way out in the desert about an hours drive. None of the ranges close-by allow them yet. I would consider a scope swap.

What say ye...

Formerly "Nganga"

Posts: 3370 | Location: Phoenix, Arizona | Registered: 26 April 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Why not take the Ruger out to the range the way it is and give it a try? Use the experience to guide your build.

Posts: 861 | Registered: 13 November 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Just take those 300 magnum out and bang away.

There was a time when the 300 Win Mag was used in 1000 yard NRA competition but when 6.5 mm improved ballistic bullets finally made it on to the market, those cannons were set aside. 300 Magnums have tremendous blast and recoil, both of which promote flinch. And, all that horsepower is not conducive to accuracy in standard actions because things flex so much.

But, just go out and shoot the things, you will develop your own opinions about them at the range. Might as well shoot the barrels out, before chasing the next cartridge du jour.

Posts: 1219 | Registered: 10 October 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Both rifles would be good for big game hunting especially paired with your scope choices.