Find
Notify
Tools

Long range shooting technique
 Login/Join

Picture of Son_of_the_gun
posted
Hey all,
I have been shooting since I was big enough to hold a rifle, and by now I’ve learned some techniques that deal with the actual act of pulling the trigger. For instance take a deep breath and hold it then squeeze the trigger yadda yadda. But I am rather new to the long range scene and was wondering if there were any other top secret techniques that are more focused on getting good groups at long range. Or am I just overthinking it all?

Thanks, Luke

Posts: 9 | Location: Corvallis, Montana  | Registered: 01 June 2019Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Become one with gun, grasshopper.

Om, Om, Om.

Once you go through the initial mechanical act of getting the rifle settled on the rest, good stock weld, rifle not canting, then it is just a matter of breath control and correct timing of the touch off.

I've found I shoot better at longer ranges, if I become still within myself and focus solely on the sight picture.

BH63

Hunting buff is better than sex!

Posts: 2205 | Registered: 29 December 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Get a match trigger! Seriously!
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10505 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
There aren't really any different shooting "techniques" - you could shoot at 100 yards over and over. When I was young, my goal was to put ten shots inside 5 inches at 300 yards shooting sitting with a sling. Those skills helped a lot once I mastered that and moved further.

Long range shooting is different in that the wind is the biggest factor in a hit or a miss. If it isn't, then you really need to work on fundamentals.