Find
Notify
Tools

advice: best camera lens combo for wildlife
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of emron
posted
after 7 safaris, i have finally succumbed to the blandishments of the fair sex, and we are departing on a 2 week photo only (ulp!) safari in May next year. We plan to go to Vic falls, Chobe national park, Etosha, and Botswana for game viewing.
I need advice on photography. I am an intermediate level amateur, have had a few DSLRS, but need to step up my game in the digital era.
I am thinking about a Sony mi8rrorless A7iii with a Tamron 28x70 (i think) 1.8 lens; also a Sony 70x300 tele. wildlife and landscaoe photography.
so my questions are:
is 300mm enough of a telephoto lens? I have never used one for animal tele
is 28mm wide enough for serious landscape photos
finally is 24 full frame megapixels sufficient h or should I spring for a separate Zeiss 24 mm or 16 mm lens?
thank you all

Posts: 396 | Location: usa | Registered: 26 October 2008Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
My first advice is to avoid using a lenses made by other markers.

Forget Tamron and others.

If you are using a SONY Camera, use SONY lenses.

I have learnt this through many years of trying practically all makes of lenses made by others on both Canon and Nikon cameras.

Not worth it at all if you are serious.

The Sony A7 comes in two models. The R and S.

The S model has lower megapixels, but an astonishing good camera in low light.

Another I recommend is you take two zoom lenses, that cover the range you wish to have.

If you are going to take the A7R, and zoom lens to 400mm, you will get exceptionally clear photos, even at long distance, even if you crop them.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 66686 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of emron
posted Hide Post
Saeed,thank you, the voice of reason as always!
i will expunge the Tamron rom my wishlist.
I will go with the Sony lenses