THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM PRACTICAL PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM

Moderators: Pete E, Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bored at home? Just go the the backyard:)
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Iris:

Columbine:

Columbine:

Alaska wild rose:

A spider ambushes a fly in a crab apple flower

Posts: 492 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 20 November 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
I took a few flower pictures over the last couple of months; I'm not that good at it and therefore not sufficiently motivated. I think what I need to do is put my 105mm Micro-Nikkor on my D700 and leave it next to the patio door, since I hardly ever use that combo anyway. That way when the light is right and the flowers look good I can just grab it and go into the garden.

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Wink:
I took a few flower pictures over the last couple of months; I'm not that good at it and therefore not sufficiently motivated. I think what I need to do is put my 105mm Micro-Nikkor on my D700 and leave it next to the patio door, since I hardly ever use that combo anyway. That way when the light is right and the flowers look good I can just grab it and go into the garden.

That makes a lot of sense. I realized that best light for taking photos of flowers is on overcast days, or when the flower is in the shade. long ago I used a Nikon F3 camera to take photos, but was never good with close-ups of flowers and other small subjects. Then when Canon introduced digital cameras, I switch to this company. I am using a relatively old camera for wildlife and photos like the one above, a Canon 7D with a 100mm macro lens.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Wink: