Find
Notify
Tools

Trapping bobcats
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Big Wonderful Wyoming
posted
What would be the most effective trap method for cats.

Snares

leg holds

conibear

or live box traps

Posts: 7768 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of thecanadian
posted Hide Post
It depends on what is legal in your state. I am by no means an expert on this subject, but I did manage to catch one on a MB650 at a dirt hole set. I also learned the hard way that releasing the animal without a catch pole is a pain. Lets just say, I had one on order the next day.

"though the will of the majority is in all cases to prevail, that will to be rightful must be reasonable; that the minority possess their equal rights, which equal law must protect, and to violate would be oppression."

---Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 1085 | Location: Eau Claire, WI | Registered: 20 January 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of youngoutdoors
posted Hide Post
Bobcats seem to move to slow to be easily caught in snares. Conibears are very non selective. I prefer double longsprings with a piece of shingle on the pan to make it larger. You can hold cats by one toe most of the time. The larger pan just increases the chances of the trap being thrown. You don't have to cover the trap for cats. They like to look for a good flat place to put there paws. Live box traps will work good set like a cubby with a live chicken in a cage attached to the rear of the trap. Check out www.trapperman.com lots of great info on there.

God Bless, Louis

God Bless, Louis

Posts: 1368 | Location: Mountains of North Carolina | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of waterrat
posted Hide Post
If we we trapping cats and cats only a #3 in longspring or coil would be perfect. A big Lynx doesn't even make much of a catch circle. Easy to catch and easier to hold!
2 lynx on the same set,,they where just waiting for me.

I tend to use more than enough gun