New
Find
Notify
Tools

1972 Marlin 45-70 question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I recall a post on these guns, and seemed to be very popular and in demand at a premium..Can anyone refresh my memory as I bought one, and its a carbine, and handy as can be, but I have little knowledge of them...need a bit of help here.

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41820 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The really early model 1895’s released by Marlin were fitted with Douglas barrels and had a BO serial number. These are the models that command a bit of a premium. The early models were fitted with a straight grip, had a half mag and 22” barrel. All models without the side safety (introduced in the early 80’s) can also command a premium.

I’ve had a BO serial number rifle and one from later production (with a microgroove barrel) and both were very accurate with jacketed and cast loads.

Posts: 499 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 19 June 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a BO model (I might have BO also) and the above is correct. They had a curved butt plate(plastic) and a dovetailed into the barrel front sight.
I don't believe any carbines were made.

Hip

P.S. VERRY ACCURATE and not choosey about loads!

Posts: 1818 | Location: Long Island, New York | Registered: 04 January 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thats what I bought, its a 22 inch barrel, pretty gun, 1971 or 72 seller said..I will check for the BO..Saw one on GI, for $1800..it sure is a handy little gun and very light, but not my cup of tea, so will probably put it on AR after I get all the details figured out..Been standing in a closet all these years,