New
Find
Notify
Tools

Receiver Sights
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to leverguns, and intend to use them for Whitetail hunting with iron sights. So far, I have a Win Model 94 (1906), a Model 64, and an 1886. I could never get used to the old buckhorn rear sights, so I'm thinking of getting receiver sights. I see Williams has an adjustable rear receiver sight for $59. What say you? Any better options?

Posts: 20086 | Location: Very NW NJ up in the Mountains | Registered: 14 June 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of crshelton
posted Hide Post
There are several options available- you can find them with an Internet search on aperture sights.

I have receiver sights on my Winchester Model 1892 .357 and Miroku /Winchester 1895 .405 TD. Both work well and appropriate for the rifles.

On my Miroku/Winchester 1886 .45-90 TD, I have Marbles folding barrel sight and folding tang sight. This combo works well for close up work and long range work.

You may determine which is best for you based on the rifle and intended use.

NRA Life Benefactor Member,
DRSS, DWWC, Whittington
Center,Android Reloading
Ballistics App at
http://www.xplat.net/

Posts: 2294 | Location: Republic of Texas | Registered: 25 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Bill73
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by crshelton:
There are several options available- you can find them with an Internet search on aperture sights.

I have receiver sights on my Winchester Model 1892 .357 and Miroku /Winchester 1895 .405 TD. Both work well and appropriate for the rifles.

On my Miroku/Winchester 1886 .45-90 TD, I have Marbles folding barrel sight and folding tang sight. This combo works well for close up work and long range work.

You may determine which is best for you based on the rifle and intended use.

CR,