Find
Notify
Tools

Ruger 22/45 Mark IV vs. Glock 44
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Bill/Oregon
posted
All I can say after actually putting shots on paper is what a difference a Ruger makes! The Glock 44 is a lot of fun as a plinker and trainer, duplicating as it does the Glock frame and trigger pull. But when I started shooting it offhand on targets at 15 yards with bulk Remington ammo, I had a hard time keeping groups under 5 inches. I am betting that testing a variety of ammo from rest would greatly improve that performance. But taking up a Ruger Mark IV 22/45 with stock trigger and sights made a world of difference offhand at 15. I have only tried Remington Thunderbolt and CCI Standard Velocity, but groups shrank by 1/2 to 2/3ds, even in high winds at our range. The Ruger prefers the Thunderbolt. More testing to come once our winds subside. March is the windy month here in the southern New Mexico desert, and being downwind of the White Sands only worsens the visibility.

There is hope, even when your brain tells you there isn’t.
– John Green, author

Posts: 16352 | Location: Sweetwater, TX | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Two totally different plat forms.

Posts: 19355 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bill/Oregon
posted Hide Post
Sure are. I am going to ditch the Glock.

– John Green, author

Posts: 16352 | Location: Sweetwater, TX | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Scott King
posted Hide Post
In an ill thought out splurge I bought two of the Rugers on gunbroker.
Because I didn't think I'd wasted enough money I bought the Volksquartsen accurizing kits and installed them in both.
I am very happy with the two of them.

Posts: 9076 | Location: Dillingham Alaska | Registered: 10 April 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Bill,