Find
Notify
Tools

Alaska Hunt.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Bill73
posted
I am a newbie to anything Alaskan,I watch programs on Alaska just about every evening,how do I get get started?I would like to hunt in Alaska,I want to experience Alaska,I do not collect trophies,I just enjoy the hunt,where do I start?without breaking the bank or making it just the once in a lifetime hunt? thanks for any suggestions.

DRSS

Posts: 2277 | Location: MI | Registered: 20 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Scott King
posted Hide Post
I'd recommend a fly out DIY for caribou.
Generally, caribou are very Alaskan, in big herds and not particularly tough to hunt. Caribou are a manageable to pack, don't take an extraordinary firearm to kill and don't require a guide, pack string of horses or Sherpas. While caribou hunting you may well be able to do some excellent fishing, see bears and moose, possibly some migrating waterfowl and who knows, maybe some Dall sheep.

Fly to Anchorage or Fairbanks then out to a rural town or village. Meet your rural air carrier there and fly into the hunting grounds. When the hunt is over, allow a day or so back at the rural town or village to process your game and get it started shipping home and then head home yourself.

Posts: 9076 | Location: Dillingham Alaska | Registered: 10 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
To see all of Alaska, I would suggest two hunts. It's a big state and one hunt won't really show you all of it.

Caribou as suggested by Scott, and I would also suggest a coastal or island black bear and/or deer hunt.

Both can be done for a reasonable price DIY or aren't really spendy as guided hunts either.

Moose would be the last of the non-guided options, but you really need a herd of buddies to make that one enjoyable if you are successful.

Another good way to see and experience the state is fishing. There is a lot of fishing there both coastal and remote interior.

Jeremy