Find
Notify
Tools

Extreme Cold
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of gumboot458
posted
....How to live , work , and not loose body parts to it ...,.,And I mean North Slope 40 below with 30 knt winds working 12 hour shifts as a Laborer building ice roads kind of cold .,.,Or caribou hunting off the Richardson in the Black Rapids area /Delta Junction kind of cold ..., How to keep from freezing your lungs ,., And why do they put hand warmer pouches in the kidney area of the better Canada Goose parkas .........Thanks for any real knowledge ,, Canadian and northern European/Asian welcome also ...

.If it can,t be grown , its gotta be mined ....

Posts: 3445 | Location: Copper River Valley , Prudhoe Bay , and other interesting locales | Registered: 19 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of D99
posted Hide Post
I had a full northern outfitters fat-kid suit when I was a cop in Barrow.

I rode a sled for 5-9 hours a day hunting caribou and never got cold. Well I had a snowmobiling helmet on too.

Anyway..... Northern Outfitters!

Posts: 4729 | Location: Australia | Registered: 06 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The majority of heat loss from the body is in the head, neck, tops of the shoulders and spinal column area. Heavy insulation is required here, and good face masks. The kidney warmers keep the lower back warm. Gloves with good insulation, with long gauntlets, and boots are important. I use the best boots available for extreme cold. I place a scarf over my mouth to keep freezing air out of my lungs. Foot warmers, and hand warmers are also important. I place a hand warmer inside my coat near my heart too. Drink lots of water.

Don

one of us
Picture of loud-n-boomer
posted Hide Post
Gum: