2020 alaska grizzly bear hunts
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Steve Ahrenberg
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Fourtyonesix:
Indi,
I believe I explained why no smoking. Because it smells up all my gear. Smoke a mile away and sleep in my tent and my tent smells like smoke. The next client who does not smoke will not enjoy that tent anymore.

I believe by me being up front and not waiting till we are in the field and then “forbidding” you to smoke is being respectful of you. I’m not disrespecting anyone. Merely being up front and honest about my camp policies.

Every time this comes up there are a handful of smokers and drinkers that just can’t figure this one out.

Jake, I am a VERY non-smoking, non smoker. Likely more than you are. I've been riding and racing bicycles for 30 years.

My question is more a general one of your statement about taking client references.

I've hunted in Africa with probably 20-25 different PH's. If I had, as a policy hunting ONLY with a non-smoking PH, I would probably struggle to find many.

I had a guy in Tanzania last year that was really rude about it. it came down to me demanding he not smoke while we were riding in the hunting car. Problem solved. Him throwing his smoking trash down in the bush was between he and his team.

Also, I don't see this as beating a dead horse, just a discussion. I would gladly hunt with you, no questions.

Formerly "Nganga"

Posts: 3340 | Location: Phoenix, Arizona | Registered: 26 April 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of fairgame
posted Hide Post
I remember a tricky set up for Sitatunga and the wind was all wrong. Early one morning I drenched our clothes and gear in wood smoke before we set off and even though the wind was bad it worked a treat.

I smoke and drink Whiskey but then again I don't share a bed with my clients. Not unless they are smoking hot.

ROYAL KAFUE LTD
Email - kafueroyal@gmail.com
Tel/Whatsapp (00260) 975315144
Instagram - kafueroyal