New
Find
Notify
Tools

Engravings from an uncle
 Login/Join

one of us
posted

Here’s a couple examples of some work my uncle did back in the 70’s. It was all with home made gravers while practicing. He did IMO some very nice work.

Shoot straight, shoot often.
Matt

Posts: 1168 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: 19 July 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post

One more, maybe a bit clearer. My uncle passed away a couple years ago and I always considered him quite the craftsman. He built a lot of muzzleloaders from scratch, rifles barrels for them, made locks, stocks, etc... I just recently got these plates from a friend of his widow and thought I’d share. He was a tool and die machinist by trade and pretty skilled all-around.

Matt

Posts: 1168 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: 19 July 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Matt,

I didn't see his name mentioned. It may be important to a collector in the future.

I have tried to get people interested in engraving. The trick is learning how to sharpen the engraving tool with the correct angles.

Just my thoughts,

Les Brooks

Posts: 965 | Location: Texas | Registered: 19 May 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thomas A. Cloutier, lived in Faribault, WI. I always looked up to him as a guy that could make just about anything. One of my favorite firearms is an old English double muzzleloading rifle he restored. From taking the whole thing apart to reboring/rifling the bores to the same # of lands/grooves and pitch to regulation and stock repairs... Beautiful large caliber double gun that shoots a patched roundball that weighs close to 700 grains with 120gr of DuPont black. Killed a deer with it a couple years ago.

I don't think he engraved many guns other than some small embellishments on his own stuff. He did all of this stuff as a hobby, but did it pretty well IMO.