Find
Notify
Tools

Frederick Courteney Selous
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of David Whyman
posted
Selous has been a hero of mine since I read my grandfathers book by Selous "A hunters wanderings in Africa" when I was 10 years old.I have been hooked on Africa and Selous ever since As a glass engraving artist I decided to engrave this piece of the great man which is 12 inches in diameter and is engraved on both sides to give a 3D effect. All the engraving is deeply freehand engraved using a dentist drill.

The measure of a man is by the way he treats another www.davidwhymancrystal.co.uk

Posts: 151 | Location: England | Registered: 08 December 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
David,
Wonderful piece! Anyone would treasure that work of art.
Selous is the archetypal hero of all real men.
Many in my age group cut our teeth on John A. Hunter's Hunter in the grade school libraries on this side of the pond.
From there we discovered the giant, "them, they were giants" Selous.

BTW, I navigate the Home, History and Contact pages at your site very nicely, but the Galleries seem to lack the scrolling functions, so I cannot see all the content there.
Your site or my "puter?

DRG says: "Kiss my liberal grits!" animal

Posts: 28032 | Location: KY | Registered: 09 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of David Whyman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by RIP:
David,
Wonderful piece! Anyone would treasure that work of art.
Selous is the archetypal hero of all real men.
Many in my age group cut our teeth on John A. Hunter's Hunter in the grade school libraries on this side of the pond.
From there we discovered the giant, "them, they were giants" Selous.

BTW, I navigate the Home, History and Contact pages at your site very nicely, but the Galleries seem to lack the scrolling functions, so I cannot see all the content there.
Your site or my "puter?

DRG says: "Kiss my liberal grits!" animal