New
Find
Notify
Tools

Opinions on this one
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This is a Duane Weibe rifle for sale that I am interested in. I know Duane posts here. Any insight into this appreciated. I am not an expert in Mauser actions as I usually use a Model 70 CRF or an HS Precision push feed.

Again, not looking for critique, but am interested in what you "see".

Duane -anything you could add is appreciated

https://urldefense.proofpoint....Acd44wvD2yq13laoI&e=

Posts: 10120 | Location: Texas... time to secede!! | Registered: 12 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not a thing to criticize. Everything is as it should be. Whoever ends up with this one will be one lucky person.

One of Us
Picture of bluefish
posted Hide Post
What are the marks on the bolt body?

Posts: 5232 | Location: The way life should be | Registered: 24 May 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
About all the info I can provide is that I built it in 1993 "0793" was my old way...7th rifle in 1993.

I no longer number the rifle..only the year of build. Bluefish: That's called "frosting"..done with a rotating Arkansas stone

Posts: 3436 | Location: Phone: (253) 535-0066 / (253) 230-5599, Address: PO Box 822 Spanaway WA 98387 | www.customgunandrifle.com | Registered: 16 April 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Duane - Did you sign the barrels back then as well or was signature on wood only?

quote:
Originally posted by Duane Wiebe (CG&R):
About all the info I can provide is that I built it in 1993 "0793" was my old way...7th rifle in 1993.

I no longer number the rifle..only the year of build. Bluefish: That's called "frosting"..done with a rotating Arkansas stone

Posts: 3059 | Location: NW Arkansas | Registered: 19 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bluefish
posted Hide Post
quote:

Thanks. Followup question is what purpose does that serve; is it cosmetic or does it serve a function such as better oil retention or other?