New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tell me about Jerry Fisher
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been offered a collection of Jerry Fisher rifles from a gentleman in Colorado. I am new to the higher end custom builders.
Tell me about Jerry Fisher...

Thanks

Posts: 10095 | Location: Texas... time to secede!! | Registered: 12 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Jerry Fisher is about as well known as any custom stockmaker in the US. He's been at it for more than 50 years and has been called the Dean of American Gunsmiths. He is now in his 80s. His work is peerless and absolutely first class. I am fortunate to know Jerry and he is a fine gentleman. Sight unseen, I would no reservations about recommending anything he has built. To be as good as Jerry Fisher is what the rest of us stockmakers aspire to be.

Look at his rifles for sale on www.gunsinternational.com and www.hallowell.com and you see his used rifles sell for much more than seemingly equal quality work from others.

Posts: 465 | Location: Fayetteville, GA | Registered: 12 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Dogcat:

No offense, but you have not read either of Jim Carmichel's books, have you? You bring up names that he practically holds up there with JC himself. Some actually post on AR. I feel divine myself just seeing their posts.

Don't Ever Book a Hunt with Jeff Blair
http://forums.accuratereloadin...821061151#2821061151

Posts: 7570 | Location: Arizona and off grid in CO | Registered: 28 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I do not have any of Jerry's work, but have visited with him a few times lately. He is a very fine gentleman.

Posts: 8959 | Location: Poetry, Texas | Registered: 28 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by AnotherAZWriter:
Dogcat: