THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM CUSTOM RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Custom Built Rifles    Stock Finishing - Techniques - Types & Brands - Success - Failures
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stock Finishing - Techniques - Types & Brands - Success - Failures
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm a long time member but don't remember ever starting a post so here goes.

I've been gunsmithing for near 50 years now. I've always tried to improve my stock finishing by trying different methods and different finish products. My gunsmithing library is extensive . Have attended a number of schools and seminars. I worked in a large gunshop with 5 gunsmiths at the time. Also had my own general gunsmithing business a few years. Most of that time I have used the wet sanding with the thinned finish for an in the wood satin finish and upon request carrying it further to a gloss finish. That worked well for many differant types and brands of finish. The finish I used the most has been 1/2 Tung oil and 1/2 Tru-oil. I've also used Flecto Varathane and other polyurethane blends with good success.

Recently I finally hit a major problem. I was finishing an expensive stock with lots of figure. Probably Bastone. I decided to try Watco brand Teak Oil for a sealer. Then finish coats of my old stand by 1/2 Tung oil and Tru-Oil. After final coats I started getting cloudy splotches in the finish. Stripped the top coat and tried straight Tru-Oil. Same problem.

Has any of you experienced anything similar ? Finally what brands and techniques do you have good results with ?

Craftsman

Posts: 1530 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 11 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post