New
Find
Notify
Tools

Outfitter for mountain caribou
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Looking for a single species hunt for mountain caribou with a reputable outfitter. Looking for a big bull versus lots of caribou

Posts: 1194 | Location: Billings,MT | Registered: 24 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not particular if it’s BC or NWT . I emailed fire mountain outfitters.

One of Us
Picture of Big Wonderful Wyoming
posted Hide Post
https://www.ravensthroat.com

Has a lot of caribou, know him personally never hunted with him. He is from Wyoming.

http://www.huntnahanni.com/wel...h-nahanni-outfitters

Has a lot of caribou operates up against the Yukon border, know him personally never hunted with him. He is originally from Austria and his wife is German. Also wonderful people, and no BS.

Mountain caribou are ballbusting expensive right now. I wouldn't hunt them in BC unless you just wanted to go about 3 times to get one.

I have zero experience with either one of these folks as an oufitter.

I know also know Travis Mayer from Williston Lake Outfitters and two brothers who are rodeo cowboys who own another oufitting place on Williston lake. There are caribou there, but they are rare.

Raven throat is about 20,000 for a mountain caribou with the cost of a charter. Nahanni caribou hunts are dependent on a sheep hunt booking. So you are for 30,000 for the combo.

Posts: 7762 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skyline
posted Hide Post
There are a few good outfitters in BC but you are better off looking at the southern Yukon and the Mackenzie's in the NWT.
Have a look at the outfitters on their respective association websites.

https://www.yukonoutfittersassociation.com/

https://www.huntnwt.com